Are you celíac and do not know how to identify gluten – free foods more appropriate for our health? I talked about it on the occasion of the National Day of celiac disease to be held on 27 May.
Although 75% of celiac patients are unaware of their intolerance, the fact is that this disease is a reality suffering around 500,000 peoples, as determined by a study by the Federation of Associations of Celiacs.
Cases of constipation, decreased desire to eat, vomiting, nausea, constant or intermittent diarrhea, weight loss, accumulation of gases or even abdominal pain and indigestion are some of the many symptoms characteristic of gluten intolerance.
We are facing an autoimmune disorder generated by the small intestine to react negatively against the gluten content in certain foods such as wheat, oats, rye or barley. The immune system is one of the leaders of the main symptoms of this condition, since gluten considered as a kind of virus that has to fight.
Feeding intolerant to gluten
The celiac disease have to check the type of food they eat in your daily diet to avoid complications. Although diet can not cure this disease, what is certain is that we will achieve a full normalization of the intestine of the person that is suffering, avoiding risks that could impair our well being in the medium or long term.
To meet the nutritional deficiencies of gluten intolerant, it is essential to bet on a varied and balanced diet.
The foods you have to avoid above all are, for example, semolina, pasta, bread, wheat flour, oats, rye, oats, muffins and pastries in general because of its gluten content. On the other hand, products that can consume without problems, due to their lack of gluten, are meat, fish, eggs, rice, corn, tapioca, vegetables, milk and dairy products, salt, pepper and vinegar, chamomile, natural tea, sugar or honey.
Tips for identifying gluten-free foods
To identify foods that are suitable for gluten intolerant, we must pay attention to the labeling thereof. The need to specify consumers the absence or presence of gluten in food. However, sometimes people can continue with trouble distinguishing this type of food.
Following the mechanization regulations and instructions of the Coach of Krissia team, we have to pay attention to some of the following guidelines:
The Subsequent labeling of the product must determine that it is a food with gluten. He only has to check the ingredients that include as wheat, barley, rye or oats, concluding that its consumption is suitable for coeliacs.
On the other hand, we can find the so – called “food with very low gluten content”, i.e. we refer to products that are composed of these cereals, but they have been processed to reduce gluten content less than about 100 mg / kg.
The Regulated by the above rules are the most widespread in the market. They are called “gluten – free”, containing levels of this substance lower than 20 mg / kg .
Also Can let us be guided by symbols as a barred spike FAPE guarantee or international gluten that will guide us to know the products that they can take celiacs.
In case of doubt, it is always advisable to consult with an expert provider in diet and nutrition to advise us about it, since there are many products sold gluten-free and can be misleading.What other advice aportaríais you to know how to identify gluten – free foods ?